The Inquiry is chaired by Sir Martin Moore-Bick.  He is supported by Counsel to the Inquiry and a team of civil servants, drawn from a range of Government Departments, who will provide secretariat and legal support to the Inquiry.

Secretary to the Inquiry

Mark Fisher started work as Director General and Secretary to the Inquiry on 26 June 2017. He was previously Director of the Office for Civil Society and Innovation in the Cabinet Office. Mark has been in the public service for 34 years, mainly in the Department for Work and Pensions.

Counsel to the Inquiry

Richard Millett QC has been appointed as Lead Counsel to the Inquiry. Richard was called to the Bar in 1985 and was appointed Queen’s Counsel in 2003. He has extensive experience of handling complex commercial disputes in a range of specialist areas, with an emphasis on advocacy in court, arbitration and other tribunals. He also sits as a Deputy High Court Judge.

Richard will be assisted by Bernard Richmond QC and Kate Grange QC.

Bernard Richmond QC was called to the Bar in 1988 and was appointed Queen’s Counsel in 2006. He is a criminal defence specialist with substantial experience of cases involving vulnerable people. He also sits as an Assistant Coroner.

Kate Grange QC was called to the Bar in 1998 and was appointed Queen’s Counsel in 2017. She has particular expertise in relation to commercial, construction, public and inquiry law.

Junior Counsel

Andrew Kinnier  QC
Bilal Rawat
Rose Grogan
Hannah Curtain
Alex Ustych
Chloe Campbell
Samantha Jones
Zeenat Islam
Emma Hynes
Rachel Sullivan
Shanthi Sivakumaran
Scarlett Milligan
Daniel Laking

Solicitor to the Inquiry

Caroline Featherstone qualified as a registered nurse in 1986. She worked in the NHS until she changed career in 1998 when she was admitted as a solicitor. Having spent some years working in private practice, Caroline joined the Government Legal Department in 2006 and was most recently a Deputy Director leading a large litigation team.

Deputy Solicitors

Cathy Kennedy
Shafi Nasser

Assistant Solicitors

Anna Venturino
Holly Waldron
Julia Dickins
Ross Howarth
Thomas Wood
Victoria O'Brien

Head of External Affairs

Dileeni Daniel-Selvaratnam was called to the Bar in 1999​. ​ She joined the civil service in 2004 and has spent much of her career at ​the Ministry of Justice in roles spanning strategy, policy and project delivery including Secretary to the Omand Review. Prior to joining the Inquiry she was the Director of Strategy and Change at the Insolvency Service.

Deputy Secretary to the Inquiry

Amanda Jeffery joins the Inquiry from the Judicial Office where she was Head of the Judicial Private Offices team.  She was previously Secretary to the Hillsborough Inquests and Deputy Secretary to the Leveson Inquiry.

Inquiry Secretariat

Ellie McDonald
George Austin-Webster
Jim Narey
Kainat Hussain
Marta Williams
Nana Acquah
Paul Edens
Shankar Balarajah 
Tom Blackburn

Share this page: