Inquiry team

The Inquiry is chaired by Sir Martin Moore-Bick.  He is supported by Counsel to the Inquiry and a team of civil servants, drawn from a range of Government Departments, who will provide secretariat and legal support to the Inquiry.

Counsel to the Inquiry

The role of Counsel to the Inquiry takes various forms, including presenting evidence and questioning witnesses at hearings. Counsel will also provide legal advice to the Chair and advise on evidential matters during the course of the Inquiry.

Richard Millett QC

Richard has been appointed as Counsel to the Inquiry. Richard was called to the Bar in 1985 and was appointed Queen’s Counsel in 2003. He has extensive experience of handling complex commercial disputes in a range of specialist areas, with an emphasis on advocacy in court, arbitration and other tribunals. He also sits as a Deputy High Court Judge.

Richard will be assisted by Bernard Richmond QC and Kate Grange QC.

Bernard Richmond QC

Bernard was called to the Bar in 1988 and was appointed Queen’s Counsel in 2006. He is a criminal defence specialist with substantial experience of cases involving vulnerable people. He also sits as an Assistant Coroner.

Kate Grange QC

Kate was called to the Bar in 1998 and was appointed Queen’s Counsel in 2017. She has particular expertise in relation to commercial, construction, public and inquiry law.

Junior Counsel

Andrew Kinnier
Rose Grogan
Zeenat Islam

Solicitor to the Inquiry

Caroline Featherstone qualified as a registered nurse in 1986. She worked in the NHS until she changed career in 1998 when she was admitted as a solicitor. Having spent some years working in private practice, Caroline joined the Government Legal Department in 2006 and was most recently a Deputy Director leading a large litigation team.

Deputy Solicitors

Cathy Kennedy
Shafi Nasser

Secretary to the Inquiry

Mark Fisher started work as Director General and Secretary to the Inquiry on 26 June 2017. He was previously Director of the Office for Civil Society and Innovation in the Cabinet Office. Mark has been in the public service for 34 years, mainly in the Department for Work and Pensions.

Deputy Secretary to the Inquiry

Amanda Jeffery

Head of External Affairs

Dileeni Daniel-Selvaratnam

Inquiry Secretariat

Eavan Dowse
Ekpe Attah
Ellie McDonald
George Austin-Webster
Jim Narey
Kainat Hussain
Marta Williams
Paul Edens
Tom Blackburn

This website uses cookies. By using this website or closing this message, you are agreeing to our cookies policy